Help a noobling mage out!

by Unknown

Back to Combat Guide.

Unknown2011-03-03 18:34:32
So, this is my first time playing as a Mage (not counting alts).

Some very basic questions about demesnes:

Are demense effects on a 10 second timer?
How do you get all of the effects to hit at the same time other than the instant-all-meld-effects move? Because even when I use doafter, I can't seem to get the effects to timed together.
Let's say I pyrocast firewalls demesne. Does it mean that firewalls will follow me everywhere? Or do they pop up randomly around my meld? And do they last forever since they don't appear on the demesne effect list.
Is sleepmist supposed to have no visible tick message? Or just me being unobservant.
If I want to stagger my effects (say, firestorm so that I won't get two ablaze ticks), how long away should I stagger it?
So, break points for melds are rooms that are connected to the meld by only one other room? Unless there is no such break point, then all rooms in the meld are breakable?

Also, any tips and tricks for the noobling mage would be very much appreciated too. Thanls!
Fuyu2011-03-03 18:47:41
For the meld breaking, I usually just remember that every sticking endpoint is breakable. The exception would be circular areas where I can break anywhere within the circle itself.

I believe demesne effects are set at 10s universally? I tried setting everything that ticks every 10s to cast every 10s, while those that don't exactly have a tick time every 5s in between. It sort of worked.

I recall every meld effect has a description which indicates whether it is demesne-wide or only in your room and in the adjacent rooms. I believe all effets that are for room-and-adjacent-rooms move together with you.
Jayden2011-03-03 19:25:59
Some effects are on the tick and some of them fall off the tick. You should notice that they are hitting in two seperate groups.

Firewalls randomly appear in your demesne but go out after awhile.
Unknown2011-03-03 20:56:10