Celestine, Geo, or...

by Unknown

Back to Survival Guide.

Unknown2010-02-03 09:24:51
So, I'm fairly new to Lusternia, and after much deliberation still can't decide on a guild to join, though I've narrowed it down to most likely a Geomancer, a Celestine, or maybe a monk. I'd like to play an archetype that plays well with others (don't plan to be playing top-tier any time soon, but I like to be useful biggrin.gif ), and would also appreciate any heads-up on RP, learning/difficulty curve, etc...thoughts?

Also I'm a human, if that matters...
Unknown2010-02-03 09:59:09
All guilds are helpful in group combat, though mages/druids as well as bards are particularly group orientated.

Definitely consider RP, and current political climate as well. Um, Celest is being smashed in the ground, Magnagora doing the smashing.

Humans do fine in all guilds.

edit: Oh, also, guilds differ in the amount of lessons needed for solo combat: Celestines need a lot. Although you can still help out in group combat.
Unknown2010-02-03 12:08:46
If you want to be effective without having to invest buckets of lessons, and want something group-oriented, go bard. Monks are fairly cheap as well. Druids are a bit cheaper than mages and are also great for group situations - heck, all you really need is 'vines' in nature.
Shamarah2010-02-03 16:34:32
Well, here's what those guilds do in groups:

The strongest Geomancer in the group will set the demesne, which is a set of area effects that hit everyone who's enemied. Then, depending on your tertiary, you'll be going for a different type of support/kill. Telepathy and Telekinesis are more straight-up offensive and have skills that work really well when used by multiple Telepaths/Telekinetics at the same time. Dreamweaving and Runes have their uses too but are less directly offensive and more situational.